What’s on

As well as attending Sunday Services, our members organise and support a wide range of activities and events. Find out more in our monthly newsletter Open Mind.

 

Wednesday 1st Mar at 5:45pm: Tai Chi class.

Wednesday 1st Mar at 7:30pm: Choir Rehearsal

Friday 3rd Mar at 7:30pm: Choir Fundraising Event

Saturday 4th Mar at 10am-4:30pm: ‘Worship Studies Course’

Saturday 4th Mar at 7:30pm: Beethoven Chamber Orchestra, Santiago Mantas & Patrick Noronha

Sunday 5th Mar at 11am: ‘A Fairer World’ – Rev Kate Dean

Sunday 5th Mar  12:25pm: Annual  General Meeting – You can download the notice, agenda, set of reports and accounts here.

Sunday 5th Mar at 7pm: ‘Reflections on a Fairer World’ – Rev Kate Dean

Monday 6th Mar at 7:30pm: Chapel Poetry Group (in Basement Cottage 3)

Wednesday 8th Mar at 7.30pm: Choir Rehearsal

Thursday 9th Mar at 7pm: Board Meeting, in Committee Room

Saturday 11th Mar at 11am-5pm: Craft Fair in Chapel

Sunday 12th Mar at 11am: ‘Being Bold’ – Rev Kate Dean

Sunday 12th Mar at 7pm: Meditations for International Women’s Day – Rev Kate Dean

Monday 13th Mar at 7pm: Discussion Group (in Chapel Committee Room)

Tuesday 14th Mar at 7:30pm: Social Action Committee (in Basement Cottage 3)

Wednesday 15th Mar at 5.45pm: Tai Chi class

Wednesday 15th Mar at 7:30pm: Choir Rehearsal

Thursday 16th Mar at 6:30pm: Concert by Marta Cherska

Friday 17th Mar at 7:30pm: Classical Concert by Frances Wilson

Sunday 19th March at 11am: ‘Talking about power’, Guest Speaker Tanya Morrison

Sunday 19th Mar at 7pm:  Ostara – Spring Equinox – Wheel of the Year Group

Sunday 19th Mar at 8:30pm: ‘Earth Songs’ Chanting Circle by Susan Jones

Monday 20th Mar at 7pm: ‘Heart & Soul’ Circle Service – Rev. Kate (in Chapel)

Wednesday 22nd Mar at 7:30pm: Choir Rehearsal 

Sunday 26th Mar at 11am: ‘Fathers, Mothers and all who care for others’ – Rev Kate Dean

Sunday 26th Mar at 12:30pm: Pot Luck Lunch

Sunday 26th Mar at 7pm: ‘Live Music and Meditation’ – Rev Kate Dean and John Evans 

Monday 27th Mar at 7pm: Chapel Book Group (in Chapel Committee Room)

Wednesday 29th Mar at 5:45pm: Tai Chi class

Wednesday 29th Mar at 7:30pm: Choir Rehearsal

 

 

 

latest event

See all events

Pot Luck Lunch

Sun 26 Mar 2017

12:30 pm

The next Pot Luck Lunch will be in the side aisle at 12.30pm (after the morning service). This is an informal, friendly occasion – all are welcome and the request is to bring some food to share or make a financial contribution (£3 suggested minimum). We look forward to seeing you there.  

Book Group

Mon 27 Mar 2017

7 pm

Chapel Book Group – meets in the Chapel’s Committee Room (note new location, entrance to the rear of the Chapel). This month we are reading ‘Frankenstein‘ by Mary Shelley.

Choir

Wed 29 Mar 2017

7:30 pm

Chapel Choir Rehearsal. New voices are always welcome.

An Evening of British Music Concert

Sat 29 Apr 2017

7 pm

Katya Lazareva (viola) and Masachi Nishiyama (piano) perform works by Bliss, Bridge, Clarke and Coletti. £15 /  £10 (concessions) include drinks & nibbles. Reservations & Enquiries~  oyjltdmasachi@aol.com     0795 747 2245

Chiks – Concert for Chiks Orphanages

Fri 19 May 2017

7 pm

Fundraising for Chiks (Children’s Homes In Kerala State) orphanages in India.  Featuring pianist and composer Christodoulos Georgiades. Plus Patricia de Mayo (Oud) and UCS Woodwind ensemble. With readings by actor Alex Lawther. Original paintings for sale and raffle. Tickets £10   

latest service

See all services

Being Bold for Gender Equality

Sun 12 Mar 2017

11 am

Rev Kate Dean, ‘Being Bold for Gender Equality’. On International Women’s Day, we highlight the bold Unitarian proto-feminist Mary Wollstonecraft and consider how we can ‘be bold for change’, working towards an inclusive gender equal world. The Chapel choir will perform for us this Sunday.

Meditations for International Women’s Day

Sun 12 Mar 2017

7 pm

Rev Kate Dean, ‘Meditations for International Women’s Day’. International Women’s Day, our meditations will reflect on being bold in the world and finding balance in our lives.

Talking about Power

Sun 19 Mar 2017

11 am

Guest Speaker Tanya Morrison, ‘Talking about power’. How do we talk about those in power? How do we remain hopeful when things seem out of balance? Do we listen enough to supporters of the powerful?  Tanya Morrison considers these questions drawing on insights from Ursula le Guin’s ‘Earthsea’ novels and her other Taoist writings.

Ostara – Spring Equinox

Sun 19 Mar 2017

7 pm

Celebration of the Spring Equinox. A contemplative service led by the Wheel of the Year group. Ostara, also called the Spring Equinox or Vernal Equinox, celebrates the arrival of spring. Ostara marks the day when night and day are equal and balanced, hence the term equinox, which means ‘equal night’. This is a time to rejoice, dance, and celebrate.

Fathers, Mothers and all who care for others

Sun 26 Mar 2017

11 am

Rev Kate Dean, ‘Fathers, Mothers and all who care for others’. It’s Mother’s Day and we celebrate the act of nurturing and care, which supports the vulnerable and the fragile to gain strength and knowledge.